Another kick-off question.

Discussion in 'Ask the Ref' started by coastal39, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. coastal39

    coastal39 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Team A kicks off. The kick results in a pop-fly that goes 15 yards. Team A's wide-out catches the ball on the fly. The ref immediately throws the flag and blows the whistle. The ruling on the field is interference and resulted in another kick-off from A's 25.There was no fair catch signal. Was this the correct call?
     
  2. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it was.

    The kicking team cannot touch the ball until it's grounded and travels 10 yards or until R touches it.
     
  3. coastal39

    coastal39 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
    This post was edited on 10/8 4:33 PM by coastal39if(GetAdminCookie() != 0) {document.write(' (Revisions[/URL])');}
     
  4. EVDevil03

    EVDevil03 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if the ball lands on the recieving team's 5 yard line and the kicking team touches it before it goes into the endzone on the 1....its a penalty?
     
  5. coastal39

    coastal39 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    This ball went 15 yards down field. The kicker shanked it and it went high in the air. The ball was caught by the kicking team on the fly. If the ball would have hit the ground first Team A could have recovered it. The ruling was that Team A interfered with Team B's opportunity to field the ball.
     
  6. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now, read what I wrote and read what you wrote.

    If the ball "lands," is it not grounded?
     
  7. EVDevil03

    EVDevil03 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    so it's a penalty?..
     
  8. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    No.

    Once the ball "landed," it's "grounded." It's anybody's ball.
     

Share This Page