ADVERTISEMENT

Game of the Century?: Bellevue v. Long Beach Poly

Sep 8, 2005
I've been reading about this game for sometime, and I have come to conclusion that this could be one of the greatest games in history for the State of Washington.

I graduated from Juanita in '84, and was a part of some great teams with Chuck Tarbox. With Bellevue's rise to power, I have watched many of their games, as well as those of O'Dea, Newport, and other local powers over the years. This year's Bellevue team will not likely be as good as last year's team, however with the hard work of those players and coaches, a good team will be on the field.

Long Beach Poly is the most exciting high school football team in the nation. With 46 players in the NFL, and possibly as many as 5 future NFL players on their team this year with both WR's, the TE, a LB, and a DE, this Poly team could be their best. They are coming up here with a huge chip on their shoulder, wanting to prove something for California football against the team that beat De La Salle. Poly is angry that they weren't the team to beat De La Salle, after having suffered two difficult losses a few years back when Poly had some of their greatest teams.

I don't know how many people will be at Seahawks Stadium, because this game is being played on a Friday night. The excitement for what is going on the field should be electric, and I know for one that I will not miss the chance to witness the most exciting team in the nation play the most dominant team in our State's history. I want to see the two WR's and RB that USC has offered. I want to see the big TE named Conan who is supposed to be a future NFL freak show.

My matchup breakdown:

Qbs: Edge: Draw