Holder's Knee on the Ground

Discussion in 'Ask the Ref' started by eddiebauer1921, Oct 7, 2006.

  1. eddiebauer1921

    eddiebauer1921 New Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    USC v. Washington today. USC's fake field goal... wasn't the play dead when the holder received the snap with his knee on the ground?
     
  2. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shouldn't be, otherwise there would never be a field goal or PAT in any game - almost all holders have at least one knee on the ground when they get the ball. FBRef will correct me if I'm wrong, but this is the one exception.

    BUT, if the holder get the ball, lifts his knee, then returns the knee to the ground, THEN play over, blow the whistle.
     
  3. eddiebauer1921

    eddiebauer1921 New Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I guess I didn't mean the play was dead... but they shouldn't be able to stand up. Also isn't there a rule that all players must break from the team huddle? Or was the huddle on the sidelines and the Huskies just didn't see him? I seem to remember FBRef having a thread on this before!
     
  4. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no rule that requires that there even be a huddle. Therefore, there's no rule that requires that it be broken with 11 players. The only rule (college) is that there can't be 12 in the huddle when it breaks.

    It's perfectly legal for a holder to rise and run, handoff or pass the ball.
     
  5. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no rule that requires that there even be a huddle. Therefore, there's no rule that requires that it be broken with 11 players. The only rule (college) is that there can't be 12 in the huddle when it breaks.

    It's perfectly legal for a holder to rise and run, handoff or pass the ball.
     
  6. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no rule that requires that there even be a huddle. Therefore, there's no rule that requires that it be broken with 11 players. The only rule (college) is that there can't be 12 in the huddle when it breaks.

    It's perfectly legal for a holder to rise and run, handoff or pass the ball.
     
  7. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no rule that requires that there even be a huddle. Therefore, there's no rule that requires that it be broken with 11 players. The only rule (college) is that there can't be 12 in the huddle when it breaks.

    It's perfectly legal for a holder to rise and run, handoff or pass the ball.
     
  8. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    When is a player considered 'in the game'? Is just stepping onto the playing field enough, or is there some other standard, as long as there are not 12, of course?
     
  9. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    He must be inside the 9 yard marks after the ready whistle is blown and before the ball is snapped. Most schools paint the top of the numbers 9 yards from the sideline. If there are no numbers, then there's supposed to be a mark on each 5 yard line.
     
  10. eddiebauer1921

    eddiebauer1921 New Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So... standing just inside the sidelines, would not make you an eligible player, would it?
     
  11. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know where you're going with this one! Just what the Huskies were arguing...he was not an eligible receiver as he never 'reported' inside the numbers!
     
  12. eddiebauer1921

    eddiebauer1921 New Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bingo! Did the refs miss this one?
     
  13. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not in High School.

    College, no idea.
     
  14. Cougarfan20

    Cougarfan20 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen the play about a dozen times now.

    The receiver is NOT in the field of view of any of the endzone cameras until after the ball is thrown. I don't have it captured, I've just seen it on the replays.

    This might be a BIG mistake!

    Bill
     

Share This Page