INTERCEPTION CARRIES INTO ENDZONE....

Discussion in 'Ask the Ref' started by The Toe, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. The Toe

    The Toe Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    NUMBER 8,

    OK, INTERCEPTION CARRIES INTO ENDZONE FROM ABOUT THE ONE, A DIVING CATCH AND THE DEFENDER LANDS ON TOP OF RECIEVER. IT IS CALLED A INTERCEPTION, BUT IS MOVED BACK OUT TO THE 2 YARD LINE WHERE THE INTERCEPTION OCCURED.

    WHY IS THIS NOT A TOUCHBACK, HE HAD NO CONTROL AND WAS DOWNED IN THE ENDZONE, NOT BY TACKLE BUT BY THE NATURE OF THE CATCH, HE IS NOT ALLOWED TO GET UP AND RETURN THE BALL. HE RECIEVES THE BALL IN P[ROCESS OF CROSSING THE GOAL LINE, BUT IF HE HITS THE GROUND AND IT POPS LOSE, WOULD IT HAVE BEEN RULED A INCOMPLETE PASS?

    THE TOE GOTS TO KNOW............
     
  2. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    If a pass or fumble is intercepted, or a kick is caught inside the 5 and the player's momentum carries the player into the end zone where the ball becomes dead, the ball comes back to the spot where the ball was caught. It's known as the momentum rule. Evidently the official disagreed with you and felt the catch was made outside the end zone.
     

Share This Page