What would the call be?

Discussion in 'Ask the Ref' started by oakharborwildcatfan, Oct 7, 2006.

  1. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    This almost happened at the Oak Harbor game last night.

    OH kicks off, Stanwood lets the ball dribble down just short of the goal line. For some reason the player just let it lie there and OH was able to get a touchdown.

    My question is, if the Stanwood player touched the ball, then an OH player wound up kicking the ball across the goal line and out the back of the end zone, what would the call be? Does it even matter if a Stanwood player would have touched the kickoff?

    Thanks
     
  2. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0

    How were they able to get a touchdown?

    It's a touchback as soon as the ball breaks the goal line plane. All kicks going into R's end zone result in a touchback.
     
  3. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    How were they able to score a touchdown?

    It's a touchback as soon as the ball breaks the goal line. Any kick that goes into R's end zone is a touchback. Always. No exceptions.
     
  4. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    The ball stopped just short of the goal line, and as Stanwood was standing there, an OH player picked up the ball and stepped into the end zone.
     
  5. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good grief.

    He can't score. It's a free kick, so he can recover it. But as soon as he possesses the ball, the play is dead. The kicking team cannot advance a kick.
     
  6. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm.. interesting. Just to make sure I understand. Team K kicks the ball away, and it is a squib kick and rolls along the ground, bumping into a player on team R on R's 40 yard line. The ball can be recovered by team K, but even if K picks it up on the bounce and runs into the end zone, the play is dead as soon as the K player recovered the ball.

    It may have been incorrect, but OH was awarded a touchdown during the kickoff!
     
  7. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's correct.

    A kick cannot be advanced by the kicking team.

    A kick does not end until it's possessed by either team, goes OOB, or crosses R's goal line.

    It makes no difference whether it's a free kick that either team can recover or if it's a scrimmage kick that touches R. K CANNOT advance the ball.
     
  8. Husky9

    Husky9 Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if the receiving team touched the ball and provided the momentum to the ball necessary to carry it into the endzone?
     
  9. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Makes no difference. A kick is a kick is a kick.

    Force is not a factor on kicks going into R's endzone. Any kick going into R's endzone is a touchback.

    A kick remains a kick until it's possessed by R, goes OOB, or is downed by K. So just because the ball is touched, it does not change the fact that this is still a kick, goping into R's end zone. Touchback.
     

Share This Page