You Make the Call #5

Discussion in 'Ask the Ref' started by FBRef, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    PLAY: Teams Blue and White are tied 14-14, heading into OT. Blue gets the ball first and scores on a FG to take a 17-14 lead. White now has the ball. On 1st down, #33 runs the ball to the 2 yardline where he fumbles. The ball rolls backwards to the 4, where Blue #16 tries to pick up the ball. But he's unable to and bats the ball into the end zone. Blue #70 falls on the ball in the end zone.

    You make the call!
     
  2. kart17wins

    kart17wins Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    The ball is placed in the ball bag and Blue wins the game because White didn't tie the score or take the lead outright during their posession.
     
  3. Da' FAN

    Da' FAN Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since "batting" a ball is illegal, and the ball was batted at the 4, I think it would be 1st down at the 2 (half the distance to the goal) for White.

    Before I get flammed, I believe batting is a judgement call, if the official deems the ball was batted to gain an advantage it is illegal?
     
  4. crfb9910

    crfb9910 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    BLUE BALL!!!!! sorry, had to do it
     
  5. MARK19

    MARK19 Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good one crfb9910, I had to chuckle after reading it... My take: First and goal at the two yd line for White. Because that was the last point at which either team actually had possession of the ball prior to Blue illegally batting the ball forward.
    This post was edited on 10/3 7:32 PM by MARK19if(GetAdminCookie() != 0) {document.write(' (Revisions[/URL])');}
    This post was edited on 10/3 7:34 PM by MARK19if(GetAdminCookie() != 0) {document.write(' (Revisions[/URL])');}
     
  6. weela409

    weela409 Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mark19 has it right!
     
  7. wahfan11

    wahfan11 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Touchback blue, but since it is OT, Blue wins, game over.
     
  8. RBI999

    RBI999 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blue created a new force which put the ball in the end zone. Blue recoveres game over.
     
  9. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still waiting for a correct ruling.
     
  10. bigdog04

    bigdog04 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 1st down, #33 runs the ball to the 2 yardline where he fumbles. The ball rolls backwards to the 4, where Blue #16 tries to pick up the ball. But he's unable to and bats the ball into the end zone. Blue #70 falls on the ball in the end zone.

    First thing I have to know is, which end zone did #16 bat the ball into? I know it's a 94 yeard "bat", but I need specifics.... that FBRef is one sneaky dude!! LOL
     
  11. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which end zone do you think he batted it into?
     
  12. Mike W

    Mike W Well-Known Member
    Gold Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    14,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Safety. Blue wins 17-16.
     
  13. EVDevil03

    EVDevil03 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    so you are saying that #33 fumbled the ball and it rolled back 96 yards...or that Blue batted the ball backward over 96 yards....or there is a hidden turnover somewhere and #33 is actually a Blue player and he ran it the length of the field the other way (which is insane, why wouldn't he just fall on it)
     
  14. Cougarfan20

    Cougarfan20 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Batting the ball FORWARDS is an infraction, but as far as I know, batting it backwards is not. (It's done on punts all the time.) Effectively, Blue is batting the ball backwards by batting it into his own endzone. (The high school rule may differ from the pros, but I think the effect is the same here.)

    Blue falls on the ball in it's own endzone after having batted the ball backwards into the endzone. Safety, game over. Blue wins 17-16.
     
  15. wahfan11

    wahfan11 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well alrighty then - Take Two:

    Batting the ball illegal, so penalty happens from spot of foul. Half distance to the goal, white ball from the 1. Just for the fun of it, automatic first down, white gets four more downs.
     
  16. col-pul

    col-pul Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blue's ball at the point it was batted, game over.
     
  17. Cougarfan20

    Cougarfan20 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    revision.

    batting of the ball in any direction is illegal. White ball, half the distance to the goal.
     
  18. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Half the distance from where?
     
  19. Cougarfan20

    Cougarfan20 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    From the point of the infraction, the 4 yard line.

    It is a spot foul, right?
     
  20. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope.
     
  21. Cougarfan20

    Cougarfan20 Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, not a spot foul, then it must go back to the previous spot, 5 yard penalty, first down white.
     
  22. Da' FAN

    Da' FAN Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... fouls during a loose ball play are from the end of the run, not sure what the yardage is, but it would be half the distace to the goal from the 2, 1st down.
    This post was edited on 10/8 10:04 PM by Da' FANif(GetAdminCookie() != 0) {document.write(' (Revisions[/URL])');}
     
  23. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Defensive fouls are never spot fouls. They're always from the basic spot.
     
  24. Da' FAN

    Da' FAN Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    First and goal from the one? See my explanation above.
     
  25. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    RULING

    White has two options but I'm pretty sure which one they will accept.

    The foul is illegal batting. It's a 15 yard penalty but obviously will be half the distance in this situation. The basic spot for this play is the end of the run, which is the spot where the ball was fumbled. That's why you see officials throw a bean bag. to makr the spot of the fumble, in case there's a foul while the ball is loose. It will be 1st and goal from the 1.

    If they decline the penalty, they lose, 17-16, as the result of the play is a safety. Blue provides the force that puts the ball into their end zone. When the ball becomes dead there in Blue's possession, it's a safety.
     
  26. huevosgrande

    huevosgrande Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that batting the ball is not so much an issue for defense. Defense can pick up the ball, attempt to pick it up, whatever, it was recovered by defensive team, period. It seems a lot like intercepting a pass, and taking a touchback. Blue wins!
     
  27. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah....grande...I've already posted the RULING above.
     

Share This Page