You Make the Call! #7

Discussion in 'Ask the Ref' started by FBRef, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    PLAY: 4th and 10 for Blue from their own 20 yard line. White has all 11 players on the line in an attempt to block the punt. The snap sails over the punter's head, and into the end zone. The punter chases the ball down, runs out of the end zone. Blue #44 hits White #3 in the back but his helmet in in the front. The block frees up the punter, who stops and kicks the ball. After the ball is away, he is leveled by White #51 at the 5 yard line. The snapper, Blue #22 is 15 yards downfield when the ball is kicked. He catches the ball at the 50 yard line and runs it in for the score.

    You make the call!
     
  2. Mike W

    Mike W Well-Known Member
    Gold Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    14,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure you mean Blue 22 catches the ball?
     
  3. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    YEP!

    The last one was too easy. Gotta think a little harder on this one.
     
  4. Mike W

    Mike W Well-Known Member
    Gold Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    14,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    No kidding. It may take my brain a while to process that one...
     
  5. Mike W

    Mike W Well-Known Member
    Gold Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    14,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    No penalties, white ball first and 10 from the 50.
     
  6. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not knowing the correct call, this would be my opinion:

    Touchdown blue.

    Once the kicker started running with the ball, he is no longer entitled to any extra protection

    I would be very interested in finding out the correct call, AND if FBRef came up with this one from experience!
     
  7. Mike W

    Mike W Well-Known Member
    Gold Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    14,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can it be touchdown blue when blue punted and blue caught the punt with no one from white touching it?
     
  8. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because I don't think it was really a punt. Once the kicker started running with the ball, he became a runner, and a different set of rules applies. I would think the kick was now a sort of intentional fumble, not a true punt.

    Of course, that's just what I would think. I'm not a ref and am not that familiar with odd situation rules. I may be 180 degrees off.
     
  9. ncwsportsfan

    ncwsportsfan Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think its Bue ball First and ten from there own 35. Fifteen yard penalty for roughing the kicker. Blue can't catch and advance its own teams punt. There shouldnt be a penalty for block in the back if the helmet was in front. If they did call a block in the back wouldnt penalties off-set. Then they would replay the down. Who knows, cant wait to hear this one.
     
  10. richardlb

    richardlb Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    whites ball on the 50 when blue 22 caught that down it. no roughing because punter was running.
     
  11. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    RULING

    This one was written to bring out some of those "fan myths" that exist.

    PLAY: 4th and 10 for Blue from their own 20 yard line. White has all 11 players on the line in an attempt to block the punt. The snap sails over the punter's head, and into the end zone. The punter chases the ball down, runs out of the end zone.

    Perfectly legal.

    Blue #44 hits White #3 in the back but his helmet in in the front.

    Where a player's helmet is has ZERO to do with whether the block is legal or not.

    The block frees up the punter, who stops and kicks the ball. After the ball is away, he is leveled by White #51 at the 5 yard line.

    Contrary to popular belief, the fact that the ball hits the ground or that the punter runs with the ball has ZERO to do with it. If the contact on the kicker is avoidable, it's roughing the kicker.

    The snapper, Blue #22 is 15 yards downfield when the ball is kicked.

    Perectly legal in high school football.

    He catches the ball at the 50 yard line and runs it in for the score.

    Perfectly legal for K to catch the ball when no R player is in position to make the catch. The ball is dead when it's caught.

    The roughing call and the block in the back offset. Replay the down, 4th and 10 from the 20.
     
  12. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: RULING

    We can always rely on FBRef to set us all straight...

    thanks
     
  13. oakharborwildcatfan

    oakharborwildcatfan Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: RULING

    Clarification, please - What if the block were from the side? Is there a rule of thumb, or is it pure judgement on whether the block was 'front' or 'back'?

    Sorry for all the detailed questions, just trying to understand.
     
  14. FBRef

    FBRef Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    24,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: RULING

    The calling official has determine whether the contact is "inside the shoulders and below the helmet and above the waist."
     

Share This Page