ADVERTISEMENT

What has happened to EV????

scacfan00

Apr 16, 2007
I have been pondering this question for the last five years as many others have. It seems they are going down hill every single year and their scoring is not what it use to be. Was it elite athletes for a few years with a coach that pushed them or are their athletes down with an elite coach now or good athletes with a average coach??? What is going on???

I think they have been fairly injury plagued the last 2-3 seasons. If I'm not mistaken they have had at least one player if not more a season go down with a knee injury. Also, I think that athletically they are not as strong as they were a couple years ago with players like Stickey and Mohsenian etc. on the court. However, a few of the freshman that are playing varsity will be big time in a couple years...I was impressed with their poise under pressure. The thing about a program like East Valley is even if they are "down" they are never out. The tradition of winning is just to far ingrained in those kids to every really count them out of big games. I think they need to play a little more flexible offensively and run a little bit more.

I think talent outweighs coaching about 2 to 1 in HS basketball. Any coach with a host of talented basketball players can "build" a great program. Coaching becomes a bigger factor when the talent level on the floor is in the same ballpark as your opponents - state tourneys for example.

Just look at the East Valley BOYS this year. Coach Elder has been on board for quite a few years now and has a pretty good reputation. Championship game a few years ago. This year they are 0-XX. You gonna tell me he forgot how to coach? No.